Skip to content

house makeover!

June 20, 2011

Happy day after Father’s Day everyone!!  Yesterday was beautiful here in ND, and I was able to get a ton of work done around the house!!!

As you can see here, there are a couple of cute pots sitting on the sill, waiting to fall off or waiting to be set on the ground, only to have the flowers eaten by Rusty.  More on him later.  We also have a lovely white door that is kinda needing a pop of color.

First things first.  I have been wanting window boxes for quite some time, so at Lowes I purchased this planter x 8, and spray painted them Valspar Brown Velvet.  It was quite a messy job for my left hand, which is still half brown right now.  Plastic gloves sure would have been handy.  Handy.  Tee hee.

 6-1/2"H x 8"W x 30"D Plastic Window Box


As you can see in this middle stage photo, the ivoryish planters are just kinda bland…

~

After seeing this post over at Bower Power,  I was ennnnnnnn-spired to get my paint on.  However, I didn’t take nearly as many steps in painting the door as recommended.  I, uuuuuh, scraped the door down with a scrapy tool and then whipped out my perty Purdy brush and my itty bitty Valspar paint sample and painted the whole door.  Now, I simply look on it as primer for the next red that is going to cover it up.  Right now it is kinda like a stripe of red lipstick on our home.  ha.  It just makes me smile.  And the best part is the paint didn’t even cost over 3 dollars!  We are planning on changing the color to a little richer red that doesn’t scream kissy kissy quite as much.

The improvement just in the window boxes is enough to make me swoon! I am so excited about getting out there and planting.

It just stopped raining, so in a little while I will go and dig some of the mud called top soil and get planting!  I don’t know about other parts of the country, but summer sure has been taking a long time to show up.  You can see that there are some spindly little plants growing in the front of the house???  Well, those are sunflowers and I planted them at the correct time, and then it SNOWED, so seeds were washed away, and I was surprised that any came up at all.  If Rusty stops mowing them down it will be fun to see how big they get.  He has already chomped 2 down.

~

Speaking of Rusty, TADA!  He is the newest addition to our family.  We got him 2 1/2 weeks ago and he is an 11 week old springer spaniel.

Isn’t he just precious?

How is your summer house work coming along?  Do you think that our door is a little hilariously bright?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 12:07 pm

    I love it! The red is bright, but I’m a big fan of big color, so I don’t mind it at all. Hopefully soon I’ll get a chance to come west and see it all in person…we’ll have to work on meeting up in July!
    Congratulations on the new addition. Rusty is adorable!

  2. June 22, 2011 5:49 pm

    I love your new home and puppy! The red door is a great idea – anyone coming to visit can’t miss it. It looks so homey and will be beautiful with all your flower boxes.

  3. patricia permalink
    June 27, 2011 1:49 pm

    Carli, your puppy is cute and the front of your house is even cuter! I like your window boxes.

  4. June 28, 2011 12:25 am

    Oh my gosh I love your door color!!! and your adorable puppy!

Trackbacks

  1. Summer days driftin’ away…. « old house new house red house blue house

Leave a Reply

