Skip to content

My Favorite types of Food….(Part One)

April 20, 2010

Just happen to be ones that I sometimes can’t eat.

And let me tell you why.

I am intolerant to dairy, wheat, and gluten,  and allergic to yeast, which sometimes poses problems

I will tell you the majority of what a wheat and yeast and gluten and dairy free  diet doesn’t allow later…

But anyway, back to the food.

I Like:

Ice Cream

source

So you say, “WHAT DO YOU DO?!?!?!?”

Well Calm Down.

I eat soy ice cream.

mmmmm.

You simply can’t tell me that that doesn’t look amazing.

I just discovered this flavor here in Bismarck this past week, and after not* eating coffee ice cream for the past 8 years, I am SUPA excited.

The excerpt from the website states,

“We are taking coffee to an all-new level with this one.

Luxurious fudge sauce and roasted almonds swirled in a rich coffee flavored non-dairy frozen dessert.

You may be tempted to have it for breakfast.”

Another personal favorite is Peanut Butter Zig Zag.

Turtle Mountian says that this is a

“Scrumptious peanut butter and chocolate flakes swirled in a rich chocolate non-dairy frozen dessert base.”

~Non-Dairy frozen dessert base.~

Really?  How about calling it something more catchy?

Personally, I call it soy cream, or just plain old ice cream, which could be misleading…

BUT, I would never call it ice soy.  Yuck.

If you so care to try a pint of this frozen yummyness, please be prepared for something a wee bit different than your regular ice cream, such as….

Breyers Cookies & Cream.

This flavor was residing in the freezer until Joe finished it off yesterday.

Try out a new type of food today, or don’t,

but here was just a little taste of what some of us eat instead of the norm.

Now, if you will please excuse me, I am going to go and make some Strawberry Chocolate Chip Muffins.…  mmm.

*occasional cheating (eating foods not allowed) was accompanied with extreme guilt and a heaping side dish of pain. Delightful, no?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 2:22 pm

    Oh wow, that looks SO good! That’s awesome that they have ice cream for people who are dairy intolerant. How does it taste? Ice cream is probably the first food I would miss too!

    Kayla

    • April 20, 2010 3:41 pm

      It tastes great!!! It is about the same smoothness as regular ice cream, but doesn’t leave the dairy-ish film in your mouth… at least I got a “dairy-ish” film in my mouth. 😛 The only bad thing is it is a little bit more expensive. 😦

  2. April 20, 2010 3:45 pm

    I need to try it! I am becoming increasingly dairy intolerant. 😦 Where do you buy it, and how much is it normally?

    • April 20, 2010 3:56 pm

      Well I have bought it at the local grocery store (some carry it and some don’t), but since you are still in CA, I am SURE that you could get it at a place such as World Market…..

      ~ ok I looked up CA, Sacramento to be specific, and here are the stores that you can buy it at :

      Albertsons Store
      Bel Air
      Nugget Mkt
      Raleys
      Ralphs
      Safeway
      Save Mart
      Whole Foods Market
      Winco

      It is about 4.50 for a pint, which can last about 3 servings for me, whereas a pint of regular is about 2.50. I think that it is worth it, and I will skimp in other areas. Altogether though, being wheat, dairy, gluten, and yeast free is much more expensive. 😦

      Get it and see if you like it, and then you can treat your self once a week, or everyother week. 🙂 There are so many flavors, and Turtle Mountain also makes soy yogurt and coconut milk ice cream and coconut yogurt.

      Yay for food!! 😀 Let me know if that helps!

      • April 20, 2010 4:31 pm

        Mocha Almond Fudge is my FAVORITE flavor!!!! YUM!!!!!!!!!

      • April 20, 2010 4:34 pm

        Yay! I am glad that you know of the goodness as well!

  3. April 21, 2010 12:36 pm

    You’re amazing, Carli! And, I’m so glad you found a good, coffee “ice cream”!!

    Oh, and that first picture….yes, well…it’s cruel.

Leave a Reply

